Finding Roots

A few months ago my husband and I embarked on a juice fast inspired by the film Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. My husband did it for a full thirty days and had great results. I, on the other hand, barely made it five days and whined the entire time. Juice fast and I could not make it work, no matter how hard I tried. It didn’t GET me, and I just wasn’t fulfilled by the relationship. I don’t know if it was because I’d had my gallbladder removed the year prior, or simply because my tummy doesn’t like all the acid in juice, but my stomach hurt and I never got the energy boost that others had. Kale, in it’s raw form, was not a taste I was able to get used to either. Lately I’ve been spending some time browsing Pinterest and have come across several versions of a green smoothie made with spinach. I like spinach, and it has a much more subtle flavor than evil Kale. I decided I would try to go the smoothie route. But instead of only drinking smoothies I want to just have one for breakfast and try to eat better from there. I feel like lately my body is in need of more nutrients. So off I went to Central Market to buy some produce and yogurt, and to take advantage of Moo Monday, buy $25 worth of groceries and two half gallons of their brand organic milk and get a third one free. We go through a lot of milk around here.

Central Market has so much lovely produce! I consider myself somewhat literate when it comes to vegetables, but I still wouldn’t know what to do with these. The purple things are called sweet carrots if I remember correctly and beside those are beets. I’m used to seeing big round beets so I don’t know if you’re supposed to cook those long roots too or at which point do they get snipped short? Either way, all very pretty, vibrant colors.

More carrots! These are round, hairy little guys. Someday I will buy them and make the kids try them. Maybe next week.

30/366 Project 366

The mushroom section is quite varied as well. This sign for shiitake mushrooms was good for all sorts of adolescent jokes along the lines of “I’ll show you a shitake log!” I have my spinach, yogurt and almond milk so tomorrow I will test out this smoothie. I’m not in it for weightloss, although bonus! if I do lose some, but more for nutrients I’ve been lacking.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Project 366 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

