Spinach Cornbread

Tonight’s dinner was quite a success!  My husband grilled some pork chops perfectly, I made sauteed green beans with crispy prosciutto and the cornbread.  It’s one of those sides that I’m pretty sure was invented around the same time as tuna noodle casserole and green jello ambrosia, my mom used to make it when we were growing up and I finally found a recipe I like.  I found it on cooks.com but I doubled the recipe because it reheats well and I like having extra on hand for dinner or lunch the next day, following my version will make about two dozen cornbread muffins.

Spinach Cornbread

  • 2 boxes frozen chopped spinach (thawed, well squeezed and drained)
  • 1 (24 oz.) carton sm. curd cottage cheese
  • 2 boxes Jiffy cornbread mix
  • 1 c. melted butter
  • 8 eggs
  • chopped onion (optional)

“Mix all ingredients and pour into small greased loaf pan. Can add chopped onion. Bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes.”  That’s their instructions, here are mine based on my experience with the cornbread.
Take your spinach out of the freezer and into the fridge a good two days prior to attempting the recipe, it’s kind of surprising how long that boxed spinach takes to defrost.  When it’s all defrosted you will need to squeeze as much water out as you can.  This step is very important, or like me, you’ll end up with a soggy cornbread mush.  If you use paper towels you’ll need to swap out a couple of times because this is a soggy task.  The end result will be a solid green lump that you’ll have to fluff out with a fork.

 

Throw all the ingredients into a big mixing bowl and combine.  I don’t care for onions in the bread so I skip that part.

 

 

 

 

 

Once all mixed it looks like one big gloppy mess and looks kinda scary too.  It won’t look like this when it’s done!  The cottage cheese pretty much melts into the bread.

 

 

 

 

Here’s where I diverge from the instructions.  I could not find the right dish or adjustments when I tried to cook it with their recipe.  The bottom always burned by the time the middle was finally cooked through.  I found, along with the help of my husband, that if you cook it in a muffin tin the bread is done in 20 minutes at the same temperature and comes out perfectly.  I spray the cups with baking spray, but I’m sure liners would work as well.

 

And there you have it, warm, buttery and satisfying.   Here’s the thing about the butter, tonight I was distracted and forgot to add the melted butter to the first batch going into the oven, I only baked one dozen at a time.  I added the butter to the remaining batter and kept mum and my fingers crossed.  Turns out that nobody noticed the missing butter out of the first batch, but in a side by side comparison the missing butter was obvious.  So if you want to make it lower fat, by all means omit the butter and it’s still tasty!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Instagram, Project 366, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Cornbread

  1. iggygus says:

    I love your menu posts! and I love cottage cheese- a scoop on rye, grilled- yum. love, Synthia

Leave a Reply

